top of page

Presentation Experiment

How to present the emulsion lifts has become the biggest question before I continue on with my practice. I don’t want the method of presentation to take away from the beauty and the flow of the emulsion lifts.

This meant that I was hesitant to trim and experiment with the original art works as I didn’t want to ruin them. To solve this, I scanned one of my emulsion lifts and printed off multiple copies so I could see what worked best.

I tried presenting the emulsion lift on a square piece of paper, but I felt that it made them look very odd and almost trapped on the paper. In future work, I am going to stick to A4 paper, possibly venturing onto A5, but never smaller. I like the A4 size but I feel that I am beginning to lose the intimate feeling of the small hand-held image which has been so important in my practice so far.

I also wanted to experiment with using letter press and wondered what it would look like if I had the title of the piece and/or my name printed underneath.

For the experiments, I didn’t use the proper letter press equipment as I haven’t had an induction on the workshop and if it was something that I wanted to do, I would have to organise an induction.

Instead, I put the letters on by hand to get a rough idea of how it would look if I were to use the letter press.

All in all, I was disappointed with the results and thought that the wording underneath took away from the emulsion lift, which was not something I wanted to do.

I am glad I tried these processes but I am not going to add anything to the art to distract the viewer from what I want them to look at.


bottom of page