top of page

Still Life Study


This is a still life drawing from the samples of creased fabric I experimented with. In person, the fabric is not as impressive as when it’s photographed and well lit. It doesn’t have the same effect and delicacy as the original emulsion lifts do.

The fabric really intrigued me when lit with heavy shadows. The results reminded me of Caravaggio’s work with chiaroscuro. I wanted to document the light and dark shadows which looked so intriguing.

I completed the study in graphite pencils ranging from 6B to 2H on 300DPI paper.

This was just a documentation process and helped me achieve more of the delicacy that is so apparent when viewing my work in person. I think that there is an important element of my work that requires you to see the original work in person to fully appreciate it.


bottom of page