top of page

Women Artists at the Millenium


Armstrong, C. and Zegher, M. (2011). Women artists at the millennium. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT.

Again, reading this publication has made me think about the metaphor and themes I am trying to portray in my work. I think my previous work hasn't come across as I had wanted it to. Therefore, I need to re-evaluate the subject I am choosing to photograph to ensure that what I am doing it relevant to my theory.

Quote

"...the woman's role is that of the model for the artist, even when she is an artist herself." pg 353

"Woodman strips herself to her naked body and her 'essential' biological self,.. so that the associations are not with film and its narrative performances but with the artist's studio and the muse of Nature and Art." pg 357

"Woodman's photography, in fact , mobilises a whole set of familiar metaphors and ideas about femininity; woman as house, house as female body, but also woman as (reversible) surface, woman as supplement and decor, the female sex as an opening or a tear, and the shell - a creatural house that is also a biological extension of the body of the animal that it houses - as the female body, like the vulva." pg 359

"pre-Raphaelite Ophelia" pg 366


bottom of page