top of page

The Polaroid Years


Lombino, M. (2013). The Polaroid years. The Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center

After purchasing a refurbished, 80’s style Polaroid 600, I wanted to look into different ways that artists have used Polaroids in their work. I have seen David Hockney’s Polaroid arrangement in person and was intrigued by their simplicity as single images but also how affective the images were when layered together.

One thing I wanted to understand, was why so many people are attracted to Polaroid images and why after going bankrupt in 2008, Polaroid has suddenly re-appeared and is seemingly more popular than ever?

William Ewing, director of curatorial projects for Thames & Hudson, points to various factors:

“First, instantaneity—which meant evaluation and revision immediately, rather than sending stuff to a lab and forgetting about it for a while,” he says. “Also, the colours; everyone speaks of the ‘only Polaroid can do this’ quality.”

I believe that Polaroids have a unique quality to them that is almost impossible to replicate. I want to use Polaroid’s to create an intimate feeling for the viewer that I think accompanies the hand-held image and the instant nature of Polaroids.

Artist Robert Mapplethorpe made me really think about how I wanted to portray the sense of isolation in my work. The question 'what am I trying to portray within my work?' is at the forefront of my mind.

After some consideration, I have decided I want to portray isolation and other mental health issues within a modern society. This is consequently going to include issues with social media in the 21st century. These issues are not only something that I relate to but something that most of my friend relate to as well.

Quotes

"Using himself and friends as models, he photographed bodies from radical points of view; fragmented the figure in serial images; superimposed his own reflection into images of others with mirrors; and depicted graphic male and female nudity as well as outright sex. Mapplethorpe's Polaroids, which reflect his rebellious spirit as well as his evolution as an artist exploring his own identity, have come to define his influential style." pg 24


bottom of page